• zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart

Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma

Synopsis

Two choreographic works that answer each other, with dance as their only subject and apparently sole purpose.  The choreographer opposite the group and the individuals’ updates in movement are pretexts for two choreographic experiments with Thierry Smits back on the stage and Johann Sebastian Bach in the role of DJ.

Can one still dance and choreograph today?  That is perhaps the question that links the two parts of the evening.  Smits answers this question – which has given rise to ‘pleas of non-danceability’ on many European stages in the past few years – with a resolute ‘Yes’, in two different ways.


In Dionysos’ Last Day he gives his answer by choreographing the choreographic act and dancing himself – something he has not done, if we overlook a few rare performances, since his first solo, La Grâce du Tombeur.  In the confrontation between ‘this very bad 40-year-old dancer’, as he describes himself, and a group of brilliant young performers he gives voice to all the possibilities, doubts and dead-ends of sculpting in bodies.  The tension between the group and its disbanding, between mobility and immobilisation, are the two main axes of this work’s choreography, which carries the work’s emotional charge all by itself.

In Stigma (in French:  ‘a light-sensitive spot in certain protista’’, in English and Dutch:  ‘mark left by a wound’, ‘brands or signs of disgrace or subjection’ or even ‘marks resembling the wounds on Jesus’ crucified body said to have appeared on the bodies of certain mystics’), the choreographer gives seven dancers the floor for a dizzying carrousel of gestures marked by the diversity of their individual personalities and common urgent need to dance.  All possibilities are explored, often in virtuoso, amusing and fun ways, if the bodies’ momentary exhaustion is not absent.  The accumulation of gestural propositions nevertheless creates a whole that connects in its multiplicity.  Johann Sebastian Bach, who is called in after the choreography, lends the dance some excerpts from ‘The art of the fugue’, which take on an almost pop character.

Press

Press

"…Thierry Smits' creation for his Company Thor actually consists of two pieces and he has taken for its inspiration –pure and simply- dance. Rare over here to see someone take the plunge these days to create a truly inspired piece, and this is a risk well taken and with such a strong team of dancers it succeeds."

Jason Beechey – Dance Europe, April 2003

"…The dance that is presented here is both pure and loaded, and creates strong images that answer to their dazzling intensity and remind us, through the use of big sheets of paper, of the choreographic essence of the lines traced.’’

Marie Baudet – La Libre Belgique, 13/3/2003

"…Through a multitude of sculptures created with bodies and paper, Dionysos' Last Day is packed with strong images… Stigma is a moment of pure pleasure for the eyes with a final sequence full of humour and complicity with the audience. A real treat, revealing the true choreographic talent of the author.’’

Jean-Marie Wynants - Le Soir, 13/3/2003

Tour

Tour

Première 11–29/03/03

Théâtre Varia

Bruxelles (BE)

02/04/03

CC Westrand

Dilbeek (BE)

25/04/03

CC De Velinx

Tongres (BE)

16/05/03

CC de Werf

Alost (BE)

06/11/03

Stadsschouwburg

Brugge (BE)

20/11/03

CC De Spil

Roeselaere (BE)

02/12/03

Schouwburg

Tilburg (NL)

11/12/03

CC Leuven

Leuven (BE)

previous
dezoom next
show

• zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart
  • zoomDionysos' Last Day / Stigma
    Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma © M. F. Plissart

Dionysos' Last Day / Stigma

Présentation

Deux pièces chorégraphiques se répondant, ayant pour seul sujet et objet apparent la danse. Le chorégraphe face au groupe, la mise à jour des individus dans le mouvement, servent de prétextes à deux essais chorégraphiques, qui voient notamment Thierry Smits de retour sur scène et Jean-Sébastien Bach jouer le rôle du DJ.

Peut-on encore danser et chorégraphier aujourd’hui ? Telle est peut-être la question qui relie les deux pièces qui  composent la soirée. A cette question ­­- qui, les dernières années, a beaucoup donné lieu sur les scènes européennes à des fins de non-danser -­, Smits répond résolument par l’affirmative, de deux manières différentes.

Dans Dionysos’ last day (« le dernier jour de Dionysos »), en chorégraphiant l’acte chorégraphique, et en dansant lui-même, ce qu’il n’avait plus fait, mis à part quelques performances, depuis son premier solo La Grâce du tombeur. Dans la confrontation entre ce « très mauvais danseur » (comme il se définit lui-même) de 40 ans et le groupe de jeunes et brillants interprètes se racontent alors les possibilités, les doutes et les impasses de la sculpture sur corps. La tension entre le groupe et sa dislocation, entre la mobilité et l’immobilisation, y sont les deux axes principaux du discours chorégraphique, lequel contient à lui seul la charge émotive.

Dans Stigma (en français, « point sensible à la lumière de certains êtres unicellulaires », ou, en néerlandais, « marque laissée par une plaie »  - ou encore « reproduction de celles du Christ chez certains mystiques »), le chorégraphe laisse le terrain aux sept danseurs, pour un étourdissant carrousel gestuel, marqué par la diversité des individualités et l’urgence commune de danser. Toutes les possibilités sont explorées, de manière souvent virtuose, ludique et jouissive, si l’abattement momentané des corps n’en est pas absent. L’accumulation de propositions gestuelles crée cependant un ensemble cohérent dans sa multiplicité. Jean-Sébastien Bach, convoqué après la composition chorégraphique, prête à la danse des extraits de L’Art de la fugue, qui en acquièrent un caractère presque pop. 

Presse

Presse

…"Créant une multitude de sculptures faites de corps et de papier, Dionysos' Last Day regorge d'images fortes….Stigma est un pur moment de plaisir à l'image d'une séquence finale pleine d'humour et de complicité avec le public. Un régal qui révèle le vrai talent chorégraphique de l'auteur."

Jean-Marie Wynants - Le Soir, 13/3/2003

…"La danse qui se déploie ici, à la fois pure et chargée, crée des images fortes, répond à leur fulgurance, et rappelle, par le déploiement de grandes feuilles de papier, l'essence chorégraphique du tracé. "

Marie Baudet – La Libre Belgique, 13/3/2003

"…Stigma, la deuxième pièce de la soirée, est, contrairement à Dionysos' Last Day, une œuvre de pure danse. C'est une sorte de divertimento, plus léger, plus superficiel, mais plus harmonieux aussi que la première pièce. Dans une scénographie totalement blanche créée par Simon Siegmann (…) les danseurs enchaînent les séquences avec un plaisir visiblement perceptible. Ce joyeux et virtuose perpetuum mobile, sur L'Art de La Fuge de J.S Bach, se transforme, dans la scène finale, en une danse de boite de nuit, avec Bach en tant que D.J.

Clara van den Broek - De Morgen, 25/3/2003

"…La création de Thierry Smits pour sa compagnie Thor, qui se compose dans les faits de deux pièces, puise son inspiration purement et simplement dans la danse. Il est rare de voir aujourd'hui un chorégraphe qui prend le risque de créer une pièce inspirée véritablement par la danse elle-même. C'est un défi parfaitement bien relevé et qui fonctionne grace à à une équipe de danseurs admirables.

Jason Beechey – Dance Europe, Avril 2003

Tournée

Tournée

Première 11–29/03/03

Théâtre Varia

Bruxelles (BE)

02/04/03

CC Westrand

Dilbeek (BE)

25/04/03

CC De Velinx

Tongres (BE)

16/05/03

CC de Werf

Alost (BE)

06/11/03

Stadsschouwburg

Brugge (BE)

20/11/03

CC De Spil

Roeselaere (BE)

02/12/03

Schouwburg

Tilburg (NL)

11/12/03

CC Leuven

Leuven (BE)

previous
dezoom next
show